Open main menu

CUNDY, THOMAS, the younger (1790–1867), architect, was eldest son of Thomas Cundy [q. v.] and Mary Hubert, his wife. He was associated with his father in many of his undertakings, and on his father's death in 1825 succeeded to his connection and also to his position as surveyor to Earl Grosvenor's London estates. This position he held for forty-one years, during which period the extraordinary speculations of Thomas Cubitt [q. v.] were commenced and completed. Cundy practised as an architect only, and among the important works erected or improved from his designs were Hewell Grange, Tottenham Park, Moor Park, Fawsley Park, and others, including alterations to the house and gallery in Grosvenor Street, the London residence of the Duke of Westminster. In later years he was largely employed in erecting churches in the west end of London, among which may be noted Holy Trinity Paddington, St. Paul's, Knightsbridge, St. Barnabas's, St. Michael's, and St. Gabriel's in Pimlico, and others. Cundy resided latterly at Bromley in Kent, and died 15 July 1867, aged 77. He married Arabella, daughter of John Fishlake of Salisbury, by whom he left three sons and one daughter. His third son, Thomas Cundy, the third of that name, was born in 1820, and associated with his father in many of his undertakings. He eventually succeeded to his connection and his position, and occupies a distinguished place in the ranks of his profession.

[Redgrave's Dict. of Artists; Builder, 1867, p. 607; information from Mr. Thomas Cundy.]

L. C.