Hawes, Robert (DNB00)
HAWES, ROBERT (1665–1731), author of the ‘History of Framlingham,’ was the eldest son of Henry Hawes of Brandeston, Suffolk, by Mary, daughter and coheiress of John Smith of Pyshalls in the parish of Dennington in the same county. He became an attorney at Framlingham, and had an extensive practice. In 1712 he was appointed steward of the lordship or manor of Framlingham, and he was also steward of Saxted and of other manors in the neighbourhood. He was thus able to collect copious materials for the history of those manors. He died on 26 Aug. 1731, and was buried in the church of Framlingham. He married Sarah, the youngest daughter of Charles Sterling, esq., of Charsfield. She died on 11 Oct. 1731, aged 63. He compiled: 1. A manuscript of upwards of seven hundred pages, neatly written and illustrated with drawings, entitled ‘The History or Memoirs of Framlingham and Loes-Hundred in Suffolk, containing an account of the Lords and Ladys thereof, with the most remarkable occurrences in Church and State wherein they were concerned.’ It is dedicated to the master and fellows of Pembroke Hall, Cambridge, who are the lords of the manor, and a copy presented to them by the author is preserved in the college library; other copies are in the manuscripts of Henry Jermyn and David Elisha Davy in the British Museum. A separate copy in the Additional MS. 33247 consists of 370 ff. in folio. A portion only of the work has been printed under the title of ‘The History of Framlingham in the county of Suffolk, including brief notices of the Masters and Fellows of Pembroke Hall in Cambridge, from the foundation of the College to the present time. Begun by … Robert Hawes. … With considerable additions and notes by Robert Loder,’ Woodbridge, 1798, 4to. 2. ‘Memoirs of the Manors and Churches of Brandeston and Cretingham,’ 1725, manuscript.
[Addit. MS. 19096 f. 17, 19166 f. 72; Hawes and Loder's Framlingham, pp. 307, 396; Nichols's Illustr. of Lit. vi. 338–41; Lowndes's Bibl. Man. (Bohn), p. 1013.]