Jackson, Richard (1700-1782?) (DNB00)
JACKSON, RICHARD (1700–1782?), founder of the Jacksonian professorship at Cambridge, born in 1700, was educated at Trinity College, Cambridge, graduated B.A. in 1727, M.A. in 1731, and became fellow of the college. On 13 Nov. 1739 he was incorporated M.A. at Oxford (Foster, Alumni Oxon. p. 736). By 1775 he was residing at Tarrington in Herefordshire. He died apparently in 1782, and was buried with his wife at Kingsbury, Warwickshire. He married Katherine (d. 1762), second daughter of Waldyve Willington of Hurley in Kingsbury, but had no issue (Burke, Landed Gentry, 1868, p. 1671). By his will (registered in P. C. C. 135, Cornwallis) he bequeathed to Trinity College a freehold estate at Upper Longsdon in Leek, Staffordshire, for founding a professorship of natural experimental philosophy. His bequest took effect in 1783, when Isaac Milner was appointed the first professor. Jackson also gave his library to Trinity College.