Jenkinson, John Banks (DNB00)
JENKINSON, JOHN BANKS (1781–1840), bishop of St. Davids, second son of John Jenkinson, by Frances, daughter of Rear-admiral John Barker of Guildford, was born at Winchester on 2 Sept. 1781. John Jenkinson, the father, was brother of Charles Jenkinson, first earl of Liverpool [q. v.]; was a colonel in the army, joint secretary for Ireland, and gentleman-usher to Queen Charlotte; and died on 1 May 1805. John Banks Jenkinson was educated at Winchester, where he was elected scholar in 1793. On 22 Dec. 1800 he matriculated from Christ Church, Oxford, graduated B.A. in 1804, and proceeded M.A. in 1807, and D.D. in 1817. He became prebendary of Worcester on 30 Aug. 1808, rector of Leverington, Cambridgeshire, on 8 July 1812, dean of Worcester on 28 Nov. 1817, and master of St. Oswalds, Worcester, on 8 Jan. 1818. On 23 July 1825 he was elected bishop of St. Davids, and on 4 Aug. 1825 was appointed canon of Durham. On 13 June 1827 he became dean of Durham, and held the deanery, then worth 9,000l. a year, with his bishopric for the remainder of his life. He died at Great Malvern on 7 July 1840, and was buried in Worcester Cathedral. Jenkinson was a man of amiable disposition, and possessed a fine library; he maintained a school for the children of the poor at Carmarthen, which usually contained 150 scholars. He published a few separate sermons. He married, on 8 April 1813, Frances Augusta, daughter of Augustus Pechell of Berkhampstead, Hertfordshire, and by her left two sons and two daughters. The eldest son, George Samuel Jenkinson, succeeded his uncle, Sir Charles, as eleventh baronet in 1855.
[Richardson's Local Historian's Table Book, v. 176; Foster's Baronetage; Kirby's Winchester Scholars, p. 283; Foster's Index Ecclesiasticus, p. 98; Foster's Alumni Oxon. p. 749; Gent. Mag. 1840, ii. 321.]