Open main menu

LAPIDGE, EDWARD (d. 1860), architect, was brought up as an architect, and found employment in the neighbourhood of Hampton Court Palace, where his father was employed as chief gardener. In 1808 he sent to the Royal Academy a view of the garden front at Esher Place, in 1814 a drawing for a villa at Hildersham in Cambridgeshire, and a few other drawings in later years. Between 1825 and 1828 he was engaged in building the new bridge over the Thames at Kingston. In 1827 and the two following years he built the church of St. Peter at Hammersmith, and in 1832 the chapel of St. Andrew on Ham Common, Surrey. In 1836 he was an unsuccessful competitor for the new houses of parliament, and in 1837 for the Fitzwilliam Museum at Cambridge. In 1836–7 he made considerable alterations to St. Mary's Church at Putney, and in 1839–40 to All Saints' Church at Fulham. Lapidge was a fellow of the Institute of British Architects, and surveyor of bridges and public works for the county of Surrey. In the latter capacity he executed many works of minor importance. He died early in March 1860. Rear-admiral William Lapidge, who served with great distinction in the Channel squadron, and died 17 July 1860, aged 67, was his brother.

[Dict. of Architecture; Redgrave's Dict. of Artists; Gent. Mag. 1860, pt. ii. p. 324.]

L. C.