Parker, John (1798-1860) (DNB00)

PARKER, JOHN (1798–1860), amateur architect, born on 3 Oct. 1798, was the second son of Thomas Netherton Parker of Sweeney Hall, Shropshire. He was educated at Eton and at Oriel College, Oxford, matriculating 31 Jan. 1816, and graduating B.A. 9 June 1820, M.A. 9 June 1825 (Cat. Oxf. Grad.) From 7 Nov. 1827 to 1844 he was rector of Llanmarewic in Montgomeryshire. He was a student and great admirer of early English architecture, and added to his church a tower and south porch. In 1835, when the erection of Trinity Church, Oswestry, was contemplated, at a cost of from 3,000l. to 4,000l., he offered his services as architect, and built the chancel and vaulted apse. In 1844 he became vicar of Llan-y-Blodwell, Shropshire. He rebuilt the church there at his own expense and from his own designs, and carved the altar-piece himself. He also built about 1858 a new school and master's house in early English style. Parker died at his vicarage, Llan-y-Blodwell, on 13 Aug. 1860. At the time of his death he was rural dean of Llangollen, and was the owner of the Sweeney Hall estate, inherited from his father in 1854. Parker was local secretary of the Cambrian Archæological Association. He was a devoted botanist and a skilful draughtsman. A dialogue called ‘The Passengers’ (three tourists in North Wales), written by him and published in 1831 (London, 8vo; see Brit. Mus. Catalogue), was illustrated by engravings from his own drawings. He regarded ‘the style of the thirteenth century in England as the best suited for the buildings of the present day when modified according to the practical requirements of the age.’

[Gent. Mag. 1860, pt. ii. pp. 675 sq.; Foster's Index Eccles. and Alumni Oxon.]

W. W.