Open main menu

WALKER, Sir ANDREW BARCLAY (1824–1893), benefactor of Liverpool, second son of Peter Walker (d. 1879) and his wife Mary, eldest daughter of Arthur Carlaw of Ayr, was born at Ayr on 15 Dec. 1824. He was educated at Ayr Academy and at the Liverpool Institute. His father was a brewer at Liverpool and afterwards at Warrington, and in due time was joined in the business by his son, who acquired great wealth. Andrew entered the Liverpool town council in 1867, served the office of mayor in 1873–4, in 1875–6, and in 1876–7, and was high sheriff of Lancashire in 1886. He built the Walker art gallery at a cost of upwards of 40,000l., and presented it to the town. It was opened in 1877. He also provided, at the cost of 20,000l., the engineering laboratories in connection with the Liverpool University College, and spent other large sums in charity and in fostering art and literature. To the village of Gateacre, near Liverpool, he gave a village green and an institute, library, and reading-room. In recognition of his public services he was knighted on 12 Dec. 1877, and created baronet on 12 Feb. 1886. Liverpool made him her first honorary freeman in January 1890, and in December the same year he was presented with his portrait by Mr. W. Q. Orchardson, R.A.

He died at his residence, Gateacre Grange, on 27 Feb. 1893. He was twice married: first, in 1853, to Eliza, daughter of John Reid; and, secondly, to Maude, daughter of Charles Houghton Okeover of Okeover, Staffordshire. She survived him. By his first wife he had six sons and two daughters, and was succeeded in the baronetcy by his eldest son, Peter Carlaw.

[Manchester Guardian, 28 Feb. 1893; Illustrated London News, 4 March 1893, with portrait (an earlier portrait is given in the same journal, 20 Dec. 1873); Biograph, iv. 461; Burke's Peerage and Baronetage.]

C. W. S.