Page:Dictionary of National Biography volume 55.djvu/286

This page has been proofread, but needs to be validated.

when he visited Auvergne and the Ardèche in 1874 and the two following autumns to search for traces of ancient glaciers. The results of these travels are given in the ‘Popular Science Review’ for 1876–7 and in ‘Nature’ (vols. xiii. xiv.). He was active in all local affairs and an energetic member of such societies as the Worcester Natural History Society, the Woolhope Naturalists', the Cotteswold, and the Malvern Naturalists' Field clubs, being president of the last from its foundation in 1853 to 1871. In 1877 a gradual failure of health began, which ultimately obliged him to give up parochial work. After various changes of residence, in the hope that a drier climate would effect a cure, he principally resided (from 1883) at Sunningdale in the house of his son-in-law, Sir Joseph Dalton Hooker. He died at Cheltenham on 15 Sept. 1887, and was buried on the 18th at Pendock.

He married, in 1840, Hyacinth, daughter of Samuel Kent of Upton on Severn, who survived him. They had four children; two of his three sons died before him; his only daughter married, in 1871, Sir William Jardine [q. v.], and is now the wife of Sir Joseph Dalton Hooker, K.C.S.I.

In theology, as in science, Symonds was progressive but cautious, a careful observer and reasoner. On more than one important geological question, such as the age of the reptiliferous sandstone at Elgin, and of the crystalline rocks of the Malverns and of Anglesey, he maintained opinions, the result of careful personal study, which are now far more generally admitted to be correct than at the time when he was their advocate. He had a ready pen and wrote forty-three papers on scientific subjects, contributed to the ‘Edinburgh New Philosophical Journal,’ the ‘Quarterly Journal of the Geological Society,’ the ‘Popular Science Review,’ the ‘Geological Magazine,’ &c. He also edited two works by Hugh Miller [q. v.], ‘The Cruise of the Betsy’ and ‘Rambles of a Geologist’ (published in one volume in 1858), and wrote two historical romances, ‘Malvern Chase’ (1880) and ‘Hanley Castle’ (1883), displaying great knowledge of local antiquities. Both attained popularity, the latter passing through two, the former through more than three, editions. Of a scientific character were ‘Stones of the Valley’ (1858); ‘Old Bones, or Notes for Young Naturalists’ (1859; 3rd edit. 1884); and ‘The Records of the Rocks’ (1872). The last is a mirror of the author; good geological work is blended with local natural history and archæology, and the tale is told in an easy pleasant style which gives the book an exceptional charm. His latest book, ‘Severn Straits,’ was published in 1883.

[Obituary Notice in Quart. Journ. Geol. Soc. vol. xliv. p. xliii; A Sketch of the Life of the Rev. W. S. Symonds, by the Rev. J. D. La Touche, 8vo, pp. 32; Royal Society's Catalogue of Scientific Papers; information from Lady Hooker.]

T. G. B.

SYMONS, BENJAMIN PARSONS (1785–1878), warden of Wadham College, son of John Symons of Cheddar in Somerset, was born at Cheddar on 28 Jan. 1785. He matriculated from Wadham College on 2 Feb. 1802, was admitted a scholar on 25 Oct. 1803, graduated B.A. on 14 Oct. 1805 and M.A. on 7 July 1810, and was elected a probationer fellow on 30 June 1811. He was admitted a fellow on 2 July 1812, and graduated B.D. on 22 April 1819. He filled the office of bursar from 1814 to 1823, in which year he became sub-warden. On 23 Jan. 1831 he obtained the degree of D.D., and on 16 June of the same year he was elected warden. From 1844 to 1848 he was vice-chancellor of the university.

Symons was unaffected by the high-church movement at Oxford, and was in later life regarded as the leader of the evangelical party. To Wadham he proved an able head of the old-fashioned autocratic type. He resigned the wardenship on 18 Oct. 1871, but continued to reside in Oxford till his death on 12 April 1878. He was buried in the ante-chapel, and bequeathed 1,000l. to the college to found an exhibition. His portrait is in the college hall.

[Gardiner's Registers of Wadham, ii. 224; Foster's Alumni Oxon. 1715–1886; Ward's Men of the Reign, p. 867; Times, 13 April 1878.]

E. I. C.

SYMONS, JELINGER COOKSON (1809–1860), miscellaneous writer, was born at West Ilsley, Berkshire, on 27 Aug. 1809. His father, Jelinger Symons, born at Low Leyton, Essex, in 1778, became vicar of Monkland, Herefordshire, in 1838, and died in London on 20 May 1851. He was the author of ‘Synopsis Plantarum insulis Britannicis,’ 1798 (Gent. Mag. 1851, ii. 211–12). The son was educated at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, whence he graduated B.A. in 1832. In 1835 he received a commission from the home office to inquire into the state of the hand-loom weavers and manufacturers. To carry out this inquiry he traversed Lancashire and Scotland and parts of Switzerland. He subsequently held a tithe commissionership, and was a commissioner to inquire into the state of the mining population of the north of England. On