Open main menu

Page:The Lucknow album 1874 by Darogha Ubbas Alli.djvu/15

This page has been validated.

( 6 )

Prior to the annexation of the kingdom of Oudh, Lucknow consisted mostly of strong masonry built houses in the usual fantastic mixture of Italian and Mahomedan architecture, two or three stories high, forming narrow, but picturesque, streets: the bazars were abundantly stocked, the population was literally "teeming," so that it was impossible to ride, or drive, in the streets, save at a walk; the people generally were cleanly dressed, betokening that they were living under a regime, which placed the common necessaries of life reasonably within the reach of all classes; but the melancholy and memorable events of 1857-58 have reduced the number of handsome houses by one half, whilst the trade and manufactures, for which, in all their riches and variety, Lucknow was once so famous, have all but disappeared. Nevertheless, to compensate for this apparent deterioration, there are now many fine broad streets, many excellent market-places, improved ventilation, good drainage; and seemingly a more equable and healthy air of prosperity may well be hoped for, especially when the traffic becomes developed by the completion of the Oudh and Rohilkund network of railways, The traveller may then bid farewell to the crumbling mosque, the deserted garden, the ruined fountain, the remains of palaces, seraglios and all the marks of the reigns of the kings of Oudh. Lucknow will gradually assume its former prosperity as the veritable capital.



Approaching the city by rail from Cawnpore, commencing from a southerly direction, the first view is that of—


Nos. 1 and 2.

This was originally a fortified garden, containing a large summer-house and out-offices, built and arranged, as an