Open main menu

FISHKILL LANDING, or FISHKILL-ON-HUDSON. A village in Dutchess County, N. Y., 58 miles north of New York City; on the east bank of the Hudson River, opposite Newburg, with which it is connected by a steam ferry, and on the New York Central and other railroads (Map: New York, G 4). It has a picturesque location, is the seat of the De Garmo Institute, and, as one of the oldest villages in the State, is replete with historical interest. The village manufactures hats, rubber goods, Corliss engines and boilers, etc. Fishkill Landing was incorporated in 1866, and, under a revised charter of 1870, is administered by a mayor, chosen annually, and a village council, elected on a general ticket. Population, in 1890, 3617; in 1900, 3673. The town of Fishkill Landing was settled probably about 1695. In 1776 the Provincial Convention of New York met here, and from 1776 to the close of the Revolution, Fishkill was one of the principal military depots of the Northern Army. Joshua H. Smith, at whose house Arnold and André met on September 22, 1780, lived here, and at the Verplanck homestead the Society of the Cincinnati was organized in 1783. Consult: Smith, History of Dutchess County (Pawling, N. Y., 1877); an article, “Fishkill in the Revolution,” in the Publications of the Historical Society of Newburg Bay, for 1894); and Verplanck, “The Birthplace of the Order of the Cincinnati,” in New England Magazine, No. 5, vol. xiv. (Boston, 1896).