( 56 )
Leaving the chowk and proceeding towards the Chutter Munzil, on the opposite side of the river, is seen the —
View No. 47.
This building was erected by Nawab Saadut Ali Khan, there were a number of buildings in connection, but all have been demolished, leaving the present house standing alone. As will be seen from the view, it is a rather handsome building, in the Italian style, three stories high. The King used to retire to this house, after concluding his duties in the Lal Baradurree, so that he might rest there without being disturbed. At that time there were three water-temples standing one on each side, and one in the centre of the river. The King used to sit in the centre one, in the cool of the evening and fish with rod and line ; the whole three have been described as elegantly ornamental structures. Those on the banks have disappeared entirely, and all that remains of the centre one, is the masonry pier upon which it stood.
The Dilaram Kothee, standing as it does, with the river in front and the magnificent Chutter Munzil and the group of elegant buildings on the opposite shore, while the back-ground is filled with groves of trees, a more picturesque and even romantic situation could hardly be conceived.
It may be as well to mention here that, in 1857, the rebels had erected a battery, armed with heavy guns, immediately in rear of the house, and those guns dealt terrible destruction in the besieged Bailie Gruard ; until Sir Colin Campbell arrived. The battery was then stormed, the guns captured by Sir Colin's Higlanders, and the brave crew of H. M.'s S. S. Shannon, who gave no quarter to the mutineers found in possession. The house is now occupied by private persons.